DPS YTCA win U-9 title; YTCA ‘A’ emerge U-11 champs SHARJAH: Delhi Private School YTCA and YTCA ‘A’ chalked out comfortable wins to lift the under 9 and under 11 titles as the month-long Nissan Gulf Cup cricket tournament organized by YTCA under the auspices of the Dubai Cricket Council came to a close on the weekend.

In the Under-9 final played at the Skyline College ground, DPS YTCA defeated YTCA by six wickets while the  Under-11 final saw YTCA ‘A’ beat  YTCA ‘B’ by 22 runs. YTCA, batting first, were restricted to a paltry total of 79 runs for the loss of eight wickets. Aaruv, who took three wickets for 20 runs, did the bulk of the damage despite YTCA’s Shaun Roger’s defiant innings of 46 runs. In reply, DPS YTCA were not really tested as they scored the required runs with six wickets and four overs to spare. Sanket (24) and Sumanth (19) were the top scorers for DPS YTCA.

Prosanta Chanda, coach of DPS YTCA was ecstatic with his team’s overall performance in the tournament. “ I  am very proud of my boys for winning the tournament. They have put a lot of hard work and winning the under-9 title makes me proud.” In the Under-11 final,  Faaraz’s excellent all-round performance helped YTCA ‘A’ pull off an easy win. YTCA ‘A’, batting first, scored 115 for the loss of eight wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Faaraz top scored with 33 runs with able support from Varun Nanair (23) and Prajwak (31). Faaraz once again came to the fore when he claimed two wickets for 19 runs as YTCA ‘B’ managed to score only 93 runs before being bowled out in 19 overs. Zohaid, who scored 54 runs, single-handedly led the charge for YTCA ‘B’.

NISSAN GULF CUP Under-9 final: DPS YTCA beat YTCA by 6 wkts YTCA 79 for 8 in 20 overs (Shaun Roger 46, Aaruv 3 for 20, Harishankar 1 for 4, Harsh 1 for 2). DPS YTCA 80 for 4 in 16 overs (Sumanth 19, Sanket 24,  Neel 2 for 9, Aditya 1 for 8, Varun 1 for 5. Man of the match: Aaruv of DPS YTCA U-11 final: YTCA ‘A’ beat YTCA ‘B’ by 22 runs YTCA ‘A’ 115 for 8 in 20 overs (Varun Nanair 23, Prajwal 31, Faraaz 33, Shahsreek 1 for 17, Aryan Lakara 1 for 11, Shaun 1 for 13) YTCA ‘B’ 93 all out in 19 overs (Zohaib 54, Varun Ravi 2 for 11, Faraaz 2 for 19, Hamza Sharif 1 for 8, Varun Nanair 1 for 16. Man of the match: Faraaz of YTCA ‘A’